by Melissa Blosser, Douglas County Community Relations · 1 min read
MINDEN, Nev. — The Douglas County Recorder’s office would like to inform the residents of Douglas County about a recording fee structure change which will become effective October 1, 2017.
The fee increase was established through the action of the 2017 Nevada State Legislature and passage of AB169. Recording fees in Nevada will now be predictable and residents will not have to calculate them. This new predictable recording fee model was requested by lenders and settlement agents in response to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau’s (CFPB) adoption of the TRID Regulations (TILA RESPA Integrated Disclosure), also known as “Know Before You Owe.”
“This fee increase was not something we pushed for at a local level but, we are doing our best to help the public understand and become aware of the new fee structure,” said Douglas County Recorder, Karen Ellison.
Recording fees will no longer be dependent upon a set recording fee for the first page, plus $1 for each additional page. Additionally, the $25 non-standard fee will no longer apply. The predictable recording fee for all counties in Nevada will be $25 per document, which does not include the other statutory fees imposed on documents to be recorded. In Douglas County, the new fee structure in general will be:
$25.00 Recording fee
1.00 Fund to assist persons formerly in Foster Care
1.00 Compensation of Investigators appointed by District Courts
3.00 Legal services for abused and neglected children
5.00 Technology fund for County Recorder
$35.00 Total predictable recording fee
For more information and a full updated Recorder Fee Schedule visit:
http://www.douglascountynv.gov/66/Recorder or call 775-782-9025.