Class of 2013 graduates from Leadership Douglas County

Photo courtesy of the Carson Valley Chamber of Commerce
Photo courtesy of the Carson Valley Chamber of Commerce
(l to r) Paul Lindsay, Christine Vuletich, Ella Wilson, AJ Frels, Jenifer Davidson, Julie Roth, Marco Caldana, Jen Thacker, Erik Nilssen, Cassandra Jones, James Jackson, Larry Lippman, Dan Hamer and Mark Waggoner. Missing from photo: Capt. Dan Britton

by Bill Chernock, Carson Valley Chamber of Commerce

In a ceremony light on pomp but heavy on significance, the members of Leadership Douglas County’s Class of 2013 graduated on Tuesday November 19th. Recognized for their ten-month long effort at a luncheon at 1862 David Walley’s Resort, the graduates enjoyed remarks from keynote speaker Dr. Erik Herzik, chair of the Political Science Department at UNR on the current state of political leadership and the qualities necessary to be a leader in 2013.

The graduates completed a course that involved ten class days, numerous homework assignments and the successful completion of a class project to earn their diplomas. Their class project, ‘Making Connections- Networking for a Better Community’, a seminar for service clubs and non-profits about the power of networking and new media, was lauded as one of the best LDC class projects ever.

Leadership Steering Committee Chair Steve Lewis hosted the event, along with other committee members David Brady, Katherine Winans, Carl Dahlen, Steve Thaler, Senator James Settelmeyer, Renea Louie, Debra Lang, Bill Chernock and Alicia Main. He welcomed the graduates to the group of LDC Alumni, which now numbers nearly 300.

The graduates were Captain Dan Britton, Douglas County Sheriff’s Office; Marco Caldana, Jenifer Davidson, Town of Minden; AJ Frels, Carson Valley Visitors Authority; Dan Hamer, China Springs Youth Camp; James Jackson, Jackson Drywall; Cassandra Jones, Houghton Jones APC; Paul Lindsay, GE; Larry Lippman, Erik Nilssen, Douglas County; Julie Roth, GE; Jennifer Thacker, US Bank; Christine Vuletich, Douglas County; Mark Waggoner, Appoggio Core Training Studio and Ella Wilson, Wells Fargo Bank. One class member who relocated during the Class year was Hannah Sullivan Pence. She completed all the requirements except the attendance portion and it is expected that she will fill in those missing days in the next class year or two.

The class spent their days focusing on specific areas of life in Douglas County and over the course of the year, heard from more 120 presenters. Also recognized at the luncheon were those presenters the class named the most impressive each month. They were Dr. Mike Havercamp; Miki Trujillo, ASPIRE High School; Supreme Court Justice Nancy Saitta; Kathleen Miller, Austin’s House; Judge Tod Young; Mark Jensen, Dangberg Home Ranch; Mimi Moss, Douglas County Community Development; Sharissa  Rydberg and Jessica McCann, Starbucks Roasting Plant; Brandon Hill, Edgewood Companies and Matt McKinney, Bently Ranch.

For more information about Leadership Douglas County and its 2014 program, contact the Carson Valley Chamber of Commerce at 782-8144.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s